You TWAT! (and some study abroad boozing)

by Anne

This is what we see from the stairs coming up to the Graphic Design Studios of Centrals Saint Martins. Instant love!

*giggles*

This is the Wikipedia description of the word:

The word twat has various functions. It is a vulgar synonym for the human vulva, vagina, or clitoris,[1] but is more widely used as a derogatory epithet, especially in British English. The word may originate from Old Norse þveit meaning cut, slit, or forest clearing.[1]

Go the vikings!

Anyways, today was a great day at CSM, apart from the really long and boring, but quite smooth fire drill in the middle of our class. We had a really good session on perspective and POV (Point of View) with the excellent Mr Bill Wright. I was somehow kind of regretting moving to Illustration from Graphic Design and Interaction, but now I am convinced this was the right pathway to follow. We talked about the impact of positioning the viewer, looked at a selection of great illustration works and in general I am quite excited. I am going to learn a lot, and I am sure this is going to help me make the path I am already walking a bit easier to see ahead of me. And I truly need that.

Where do you think I was standing when I got this photo?

After class myself and Maria went for a stroll at the markets in Angel. It’s my kind of area. A little shabby, but oozing of life and it has a vibrant sense to it that you cn no longer find in areas such as Camden. The markets are smaller, but cheap. There was a great little haberdashery stall with the most amazing buttons. I so have to make a phone call to my knitty gritty Mum and ask her which ones she wants. Norway sucks on buttons! Here, you can find it all. There were penguins, elephants, huge rhinestone Edwardian style buttons, anything!

After consuming the biggest, fattiest, most amazing burger at the Naked Sausage, we headed down t meet the Study Abroad people at the Cittie of Yorke pub in High Holborn. There had been a photo contest, and we all got together to announce our winners. Ole from HiG was one of the runner ups with an amazing shot from the student housing. Good on you!

The pub itself was amazing! Very English, and they only serve their own brews. And that makes them cheaper than most pubs that doesn’t. A student can fancy this indeed! And, to add a little bit of typographic history to it all, Mr William Morris (Arts and Crafts Movement) had his portrait on the wall in the pub. Still have to figure out why, but now it is time to pack the bag for tomorrows Screen Printing Work Shop and calm down with a movie. Almost homework actually. Raising Arizona and it’s movie angles.

Just a few from the pub.

The Bar

Great building

Maria enjoying herself before going to work out! (Crazy woman!)

Ejoying a brewsky with the other study abroad people

And Mr. Morris himself.

